Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Cocktails with the Chiefs

Thursday, September 14, 2017 @ 6:00 pm - 8:00 pm

This time our popular Cocktails with the Chiefs event is going to be in Fort Worth.

Come listen as local industry leaders share their experience and gain insight on how to build leadership skills and leverage them for professional growth. Learn from their successes and challenges and be inspired to further pursue your own professional and personal development goals.
Anna Brewer, CVA, Partner, JTaylor
Robert Earley, MHA, FACHE, President/ CEO of JPS Health Network
Stuart Flynn, MD, Dean of TCU and UNTHSC School of Medicine
Michael Sanborn, MS, RPh, FACHE, President/CEO of Baylor Scott & White Medical Center- Fort Worth
Keith Argenbright, MD, Medical Director of UTSW Moncrief Cancer Institute)
Thanks to our hosts for this program: E4H Environments for Health Architecture and Texas Christian University, MBA Healthcare Program!

Speaker Bios:

Keith Argenbright, MD
Medical Director
UTSW Moncrief Cancer Institute

Keith Argenbright, MD is Professor and Chief of Community Health Sciences at University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center.

Dr. Argenbright also serves as Director at Moncrief Cancer Institute, an affiliate of the NCI-designated UT Southwestern Harold C. Simmons Comprehensive Cancer Center.

Dr. Argenbright is a graduate of the University of Oklahoma and Tulane University School of Medicine. He completed a family practice residency at John Peter Smith Hospital and a Master of Medical Management at Carnegie Mellon University.

In 2014, he earned the UT Regents’ Outstanding Teaching Award. Considered the top teaching prize in the UT system, it is one of the largest teaching award programs in the country.

Anna K. Brewer, CVA
Partner – Consulting Services

Anna has significant experience in the healthcare industry providing a number of services to healthcare providers.

She leverages strong analytical and financial analysis skills in the areas of managed care analysis, negotiation support, revenue cycle analytics, valuations, due diligence, physician compensation, joint venture development, and strategic business plans. Her list of clients includes physician-owned hospitals, ambulatory surgery centers, community hospitals, multi-hospital systems, academic medical centers, and physician practices. Anna has also assisted clients in areas involving claims dispute resolution and litigation support.

After graduating with a Bachelor of Business Administration in Accounting from Texas Christian University, Anna joined Arthur Andersen as a Consultant in the Finance and Economics group. Prior to joining JTaylor, she spent three years in the Health Sciences Advisory Services group at Ernst & Young.

Anna is contributing author in the field of healthcare for the Fort Worth Business Press. She is a member of the National Association of Certified Valuators and Analysts and is a Certified Valuation Analyst.

Robert Earley
President and CEO
JPS Health Network

Robert Earley’s journey from South Texas to CEO of Tarrant County’s public supported healthcare system was anything but a straight line.

A political science graduate from the University of North Texas, Earley put that degree to use as a staff assistant to a Texas congressman in our nation’s capital. His D.C. experience sparked his own political aspirations and Earley returned to Texas to run for a seat in the Texas House of Representatives.  He was only 23 when elected in 1984 to represent his South Texas hometown. He served 10 years before choosing not to seek re-election in 1995.

Before joining JPS Health Network in 2005 as a senior VP focused on community and government affairs, Earley taught college courses, ran an Austin-based public affairs firm and served as an on-air political analyst for NBC’s affiliate station in Austin. The Tarrant County Hospital District Board of Managers appointed him interim president and CEO in May 2008 and in February 2009 he was named president and CEO.

Earley holds a master’s degree in healthcare administration from the University of Texas-Arlington.  He serves on the board of the Meadows Mental Health Policy Institute.

Earley and his veterinarian wife, Tricia, have one daughter.

Stuart D. Flynn, M.D.
Fort Worth’s M.D. School

Stuart D. Flynn, M.D., is the founding dean of Fort Worth’s new M.D. school, the TCU and UNTHSC School of Medicine.

He most recently served as founding dean of the University of Arizona College of Medicine – Phoenix. Previously, he was a professor of pathology and surgery at Yale University School of Medicine as well as an accomplished researcher, director of the residency program, a leader in the design and oversight of the school’s curriculum, and founding member of The Society of Distinguished Teachers at Yale.

Flynn received his medical degree and residency training from the University of Michigan and completed a fellowship in oncologic pathology at Stanford University.

Flynn has authored more than 100 articles, books and monographs. He has received numerous honors including America’s Top Physician’s Award from the Consumers’ Research Council of America, the Bohmfalk Teacher of the Year Award from Yale University School of Medicine and the Averill A. Liebow Award for excellence in the teaching of residents, also at Yale.  He has been a member of the National Board of Medical Examiners Pathology Test Committee and USMLE Step I Test Material Development Committee.

Michael Sanborn, MS, RPh, FACHE
Baylor Scott & White Medical Center- Fort Worth

Mike Sanborn, became president of Baylor Scott & White All Saints – Fort Worth on September 19, 2016. Prior to that, he was president of Baylor Scott & White – Carrollton since August 2011, having joined Baylor in March 2003.

Mike is a pharmacist, and his previous experience includes leading the cardiovascular service line for the System as well as pharmacy leadership positions in large health systems and academic medical centers. Earlier this year, Mike received the Citizen of the Year award for the cities of Carrollton, Addison, and Farmers Branch, as well as the Distinguished Service Award at the Texas Society of Health-System Pharmacists Annual Seminar.

He is a committed leader and volunteer. Locally, he serves on the advisory board of Metrocrest Services and the board of Children’s Advocacy Center for Denton County, as well as the Metrocrest Chamber of Commerce, where he most recently served as the immediate past chair of the board. He also has served on the national board for the American Society for Health System Pharmacists, and he is active locally in MSHP and ACHE. He has published articles and presented in a multitude of areas related to process improvement, healthcare technology, finance and leadership.



Thursday, September 14, 2017
6:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Event Category: